Back to News

The RIBA Stirling Prize 2019 shortlist is out

RIBA Stirling Prize 2019

The RIBA Stirling Prize 2019 shortlist has been announced and will be awarded to the UK’s best building at an awards ceremony on 8th October 2019.

The cat is out of the bag as six projects were shortlisted for this year’s RIBA Stirling prize 2019. According to RIBA “The RIBA Stirling Prize, sponsored by Almacantar, is judged against a range of criteria including design vision; innovation and originality; capacity to stimulate, engage and delight occupants and visitors; accessibility and sustainability; how fit the building is for its purpose and the level of client satisfaction.”

The RIBA Stirling Prize is named after 1980 Royal Gold Medallist, James Stirling. It is an esteemed achievement for RIBA Chartered Architects and International Fellows and recognised throughout the architecture world.

Following a routine operation, James passed having yet to receive public recognition despite being at “the height of his powers”. He was described as “prophet without honour in his own country” (1). In his honour, the RIBA Stirling Prize celebrates UK buildings that have made the highest contribution to the progression of architecture in a given year.

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is an international professional membership organisation which aims to drive excellence in architecture. RIBA is a signatory to the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC). Plus it has sustainability and community at the heart of all of its practices.

RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist

  1. London Bridge Station
    Grimshaw won the RIBA London Award 2019, IBA London Building of the Year Award 2019 and RIBA National Award 2019 for their commission from Network rail for the London Bridge Station regeneration. As covered in our AJ100 2019 list, Grimshaw also won the Architects Journal Building of the Year award for this project too. More information about London Bridge Station here.
  2. Nevill Holt Opera
    Hidden within the stable yard of the Nevill Holt Hall, the Witherford Watson Mann Architects project brought 21st Century charm to the pre-13th century surroundings and Grade I listed hall. Nevill Holt Opera won the RIBA East Midlands Award 2019, RIBA East Midlands Conservation Award 2019, RIBA East Midlands Building of the Year 2019 and RIBA National Award 2019. More information about Nevill Holt Opera here.
  3. Goldsmith Street
    With “a sustainable community” as it’s prerequisite, Mikhail Riches with Cathy Hawley set to work on Norwich City Council’s Goldsmith Street. The over a decade long project won the RIBA East Award 2019, RIBA East Client of the Year 2019 for Norwich City Council, RIBA East Sustainability Award 2019 and RIBA National Award 2019. More information about Goldsmith Street here.
  4. The Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience
    The Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience building rooftop mimics its surrounding hills in order to conceal it’s presence and not detract from the beautiful environment it neighbours. Winner of RIAS Award 2019 and RIBA Award for Scotland 2019, Edrington commissioned Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners for this unique piece of architecture. More information about the Macallan Distillery and Visitor Experience here.
  5. The Weston, Yorkshire Sculpture Park
    Feilden Fowles Architects were commissioned by Yorkshire Sculpture Park to design its latest visitor centre and gallery; The Weston. It has since won a multitude of awards including the RIBA Yorkshire Award 2019, RIBA Yorkshire Client of the Year Award 2019, RIBA Yorkshire Building of the Year Award 2019 and RIBA National Award 2019. More information about The Weston at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park here.
  6. Cork House
    The Cork house is by Matthew Barnett Howland with Dido Milne and Oliver Wilton. It can be found within the area of an early nineteenth century Grade II listed mill house and has sustainability and respect for its surroundings in mind. Winner of the RIBA South Award 2019, RIBA South Sustainability Award 2019 and RIBA National Award 2019. More information about the Cork House here.

Last year’s winner of the RIBA Stirling prize 2018 was awarded to the Bloomberg building which was designed by Foster + Partners.

Tickets for the RIBA Stirling Prize 2019 ceremony are now on sale here for the event in October 2019.

Architecture Recruitment Specialists

Hunter Dunning is one of the leaders in the Architecture Recruitment Specialist market. It provides its customers with second to none recruitment solutions, plus the latest industry insights, statistics and news. Check back on our architecture blog regularly for updates such as these.

Want to make more of your Architecture career? Search our current Architecture jobs, and Architect Assistant jobs.

1. RIBA, “Riba Stirling Prize 2019”, https://www.architecture.com/awards-and-competitions-landing-page/awards/riba-stirling-prize [Accessed 05.08.19]