Back to News

Bookings now open for the Women in Architecture awards and luncheon

Women in Architecture Awards

Join like-minded individuals at the Women in Architecture awards and luncheon on Friday 1st March 2019 at The Savoy in London.

What are the Women in Architecture awards?

Since 2012 the annual Women in Architecture awards has celebrated the best design by female architects from all over the globe. The overarching Women in Architecture campaign is an annual survey with several events and awards that promote role models for young women in the practice.

In partnership with its sister title The Architectural Review, the Architects’ Journal (AJ) aims to alter the profession for the better. Former AJ editor Christine Murray founded Women in Architecture, with a provocative first cover of Architect Barbie restyled in black leather instead of denim and pink, as a tongue-in-cheek explosion of a stereotype.

To compliment the initiative, the Women in Architecture Awards was born. It has now become an invaluable element of the campaign. Prized by its winners, judges and spectators alike it is regarded as a special occasion by all.

Award categories include:

  • Architect of the Year: This annual award recognises excellence in design with an emphasis on a single built project lead or co-lead by the nominee completed in the last 18 months
  • Moira Gemmill Prize: This award recognises excellence in design and a bright future for women designers under the age of 45, with an emphasis on achievements and completed projects
  • Jane Drew Prize: recognises an architectural designer who through her work and commitment to design excellence has raised the profile of women in architecture
  • Ada Louise Huxtable Prize: recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment.

Previous years

In 2018, artist Madelon Vriesendorp won the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize. This prize acknowledges the influence and involvement of people working in the wider architectural industry.

Amanda Levete was awarded the Jane Drew Prize. This prize recognises the work of an architectural designer. Previously, this has been won by architects such as Denise Scott Brown, Zaha Hadid and Eva Jiřičná.

“The prize enabled the recognition of our studio as a partnership. Invitations were usually addressed to both of us, or just to my male partner. Now I am personally invited to share my work and ideas in reviews, lectures and roundtables around the world. Finally!” ~ Gabriela Carrillo, winner of the 2017 Architect of the Year prize

This years’ attendees will hear all about the work of previous winners. They’ll also meet other exceptional women from across the architecture industry to share opinions and best practice.

Event details

Date: Friday 1st March 2019
Time: 12pm
Location: The Savoy, Strand, London, WC2R 0EZ

Book your seats or tables here

For any enquiries email WomeninArchitecture@emap.com

According to Architecture Journal “During the luncheon the winners of the Woman Architect of the Year and the Moira Gemmill Prize for emerging architecture will be revealed, the shortlists for which will be announced soon. There will also be presentations by the yet-to-be-announced winners of the Jane Drew Prize and the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize.”

[Image from Architects Journal: From left, Ilze Wolff of Wolff Architects, Anna Puigjaner and Maria Charneco and Anna Puigjaner of MAIO, Gloria Cabral of Gabinete de Arquitectura, and Sook Hee Chun of WISE Architecture were all shortlisted for the Moira Gemmill Prize last year.]